The skating world gathers in Mississauga for Skate Canada International | Catch My Job


OTTAWA, ON (October 24, 2022) – After a successful weekend at Skate America that saw Canadians win three medals, the ISU Grand Prix Series makes its 48th stop in Mississauga, Ontario this edition of Skate Canada International. From October 28-30, some of the best skaters from around the world will compete for a spot on the podium at the Paramount Fine Foods Centre, including Shoma Uno, Young You, Lilah Fear, Lewis Gibson, Riku Miura, Ryuichi Kihara, plus fifteen of Canada’s best talents.

The men’s team, which will have three entries, will be led by a veteran and two-time Olympian Keegan Messing. Messing is the reigning Canadian champion and has had a fantastic start to the season, winning gold at the Nebelhorn Trophy. They will join him Konrad Orzel, which recently took 11th at the Finland Trophy, as well as Stefan Gogolevwho finished 9th at the US International Figure Skating Classic.

Olympians Madeline Schizas and Gabrielle Daleman will represent Canada in the women’s field. Shizas, a gold medalist at the 2022 Canadian National Figure Skating Championships, began her competitive season with a 5th place on the Nebelhorn Trophy. Teammate Gabrielle Daleman will be competing in her first international competition after a stellar domestic season that saw her win gold at the 2022 Skate Canada Challenge and bronze at the 2022 Canadian Figure Skating Championships.

In the pair event, Canada will send two young but solid teams, with Brooke McIntosh and Benjamin Architect setting their sights on the top step of the podium. The pair, who finished third at the ISU World Junior Figure Skating Championships last season, had a breakthrough start to their first senior season, winning bronze at the 2022 Finlandia Trophy earlier this month. Kelly Ann Laurin and Loucas Ethey will also compete in the event after winning bronze over the weekend at Skate America.

Canada will boast three Olympic ice dance teams. Skate Canada 2021 International Gold Medalists Piper Gilles and Paul Poirier will look to defend their title after a successful 2021-2022 season in which the pair won the Canadian title. Marjorie Lajoie and Zachary Lagha will also be strong contenders for the title, with the team having won two gold medals this year at the Ondre Napel Memorial and the Budapest Trophy. finally, Marie-Jade Lauriault and Romain Le Gac who won bronze at Skate America, will replace Mika Makita and Tyler Gunnar due to injury.

The competition starts on Friday, October 28, and all disciplines perform their short program/rhythm dance. All medals will be awarded on Saturday, October 29, as all disciplines perform their free program/free dance. The event ends on Sunday with a festive exhibition. The event will be broadcast live in Canada via

Team Canada

Name | Age | Hometown | Coach | Training location

Gabrielle Daleman | 24 | Newmarket, Ont. | Lee Barkell | Toronto, Ont.
Madeline Schizas | 19 | Oakville, Ont. | Nancy Lemaire & Derek Schmidt | Milton, Ont.

Stephen Gogolev | 17 | Toronto, Ont. | Rafael Arutiunian & Lee Barkell | Irvine, USA
Keegan Messing | 30 | Girdwood, USA | Ralph Burghart | Anchorage, USA
Conrad Orzel | 22 | Toronto, Ont. | Ravi Walia | Edmonton, Alta.

Kelly Ann Laurin | 16 | St-Jerome, Que. & Loucas Etheir | 22 | Deux-Montagnes, Que. | Stephanie Valois | Rosemere, Que.
Brooke McIntosh | 17 | Toronto, Ont. & Benjamin Mimar | 21 | Terrebonne, Que. | Andrew Evans & Alexander Sheldrick | Toronto, Ont.

Ice Dance
Piper Gilles | 30 | Toronto, Ont. & Paul Poirier | 30 | Unionville, Ont. | Carol Lane & Juris Razgulayevs | Scarborough, Ont.
Marjorie Lajoie | 21 | Boucherville, Que. & Zachary Lagha | 23 | Saint-Hubert, Que. | Romain Haguenauer | Montreal, Que.
Marie-Jade Lauriault | 25 | Ste-Anne-Des-Plaines, Que. & Romain Le Gac | 27 | Laval, Que. | Marie-France Dubreuil & Patrice Lauzon| Ste-Anne-Des-Plaines, Que.

Team Leaders – Carolyn Allwright and Cynthia Ullmark
Medical team – Tatjana Jevremović and Agnes Makovski
Officials – Andrea Derby, Veronique Gosselin, Janice Hunter and Lorna Schroder

For more information on the event and complete schedules, click here. To purchase single session tickets, visit


Source link